Courier Life’s
Sections

Current search:

Dates

July, 2015
S M T W T F S
1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031
August, 2016
S M T W T F S
123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031

Neighborhoods

Categories

Art

Venues

Results 1–25 of 25.

Pages: 1

Thursday, July 30 (See map view)

After years of war in the Middle east, writers have emerged from the military with stories of war and homecoming. Authors Philip Klay, Matt Gallagher, author Sara Novic, and poet and playwright Maurice Decaul discuss the phenomenon. 6 pm.

Monday, Aug. 3 (See map view)

As a part of summer outdoor reading series, WORD Bookstore sponsors a talk with authors Naomi Novik on her book "Uprooted" and Peter V. Brett on his novel “The Skull Throne.” 7 pm.

Tuesday, Aug. 4 (See map view)

Listen to Brooklyn Heights librarians read stories from the Brooklyn Public Library’s reading list. 10:30 am.

Kathleen Alcott launches "Infinite Home," which the Wall Street Journal raves is “a beautiful story of love and heartbreak.” Author Valeria Luiselli discusses the book with her. 7–9 pm.

In the tradition of "Detroit: An American Autopsy" and “Maximum City” comes a deeply reported and beautifully written biography of the city of Rio de Janeiro from prizewinning journalist and Brazilian native Juliana Barbassa. 7 pm.

In "The Fifth Season," Jemisin weaves storylines of a mother looking for her kidnapped daughter, a girl taken to a brutal school, and two magicians, into one. 7 pm.

Wednesday, Aug. 5 (See map view)

At a time of controversial police actions, debates over public education, and poverty, Luther Campbell’s biography "The Book of Luke" shows how one person can change a community and a country. 7–9 pm.

In "The Sex Myth," Rachel Hills blends sociology, popular culture, and powerful personal stories to present a new perspective on our collective sex lives. 7 pm.

Thursday, Aug. 6 (See map view)

Lauren Willig celebrates "The Lure of the Moonflower," the latest novel in the Pink Carnation series, in conversation with Beatriz Williams (“Tiny Little Thing”) and Sarah MacLean (“The Rogue Not Taken”). 7 pm.

S Kincaid launches "Man the F*** Up," a comedic bedtime story in which one woman sorely laments the death of chivalry in modern dating. 7–9 pm.

Saturday, Aug. 8 (See map view)

Author Kate Schatz and illustrator Miriam Klein Stahl present their new children’s book about awesome ladies, in which A is for Angela Davis. 11 am.

Monday, Aug. 10 (See map view)

As a part of summer outdoor reading series, BookCourt sponsors a talk with author Dennis Dunaway, author of "Snakes! Guillotines! Electric Chairs: My Experience in the Alice Cooper Group." 7 pm.

Tuesday, Aug. 11 (See map view)

Listen to Brooklyn Heights librarians read stories from the Brooklyn Public Library’s reading list. 10:30 am.

Wednesday, Aug. 12 (See map view)

Nicola Chase talks about her memoir "Tea and Transition," where she recounts her journey to gender acceptance, and the humor and heartbreak that comes with it. 7–9 pm.

Friday, Aug. 14 (See map view)

Jeff Bartsch talks his new book, "Two Across," joined by Jonathan Weisman, author of new book “No. 4 Imperial Lane.” 4 pm.

Tuesday, Aug. 18 (See map view)

Listen to Brooklyn Heights librarians read stories from the Brooklyn Public Library’s reading list. 10:30 am.

Jennifer Pashley celebrates the release of "The Scamp," in conversation with author Julia Fierro (“Cutting Teeth”). 7 pm.

In fifteen tragically funny autobiographical essays, Adam Resnick explores his life long distaste for social situations in "Will Not Attend." 7–9 pm.

Wednesday, Aug. 19 (See map view)

Colin Atrophy Hagendorf’s new book, "Slice Harvester," is a memoir in pizza, and based from his quest to review every slice of pizza in Manhattan. 7 pm.

Thursday, Aug. 20 (See map view)

Chuck Wendig launches "Zer0es," described as “thrill-ride through the underbelly of cyber espionage” by SF Signal, in conversation with Daniel Jose Older (“Shadowshaper”). 7 pm.

Saturday, Aug. 22 (See map view)

Wife of the wrestling legend, Dana Warrior visits POWERHOUSE to celebrate her novel "The Ultimate Warrior: A Life Lived “Forever”: The legend of a WWE Hero." 3–5 pm.

Monday, Aug. 24 (See map view)

Poet, rapper, and political activist Boots Riley brings discusses how art and politics fuel one another in photo-rich "Boots Riley: Tell Homeland Security – We Are the Bomb." 7–9 pm.

Tuesday, Aug. 25 (See map view)

Brenna Ehrlich, founder of the small press and record label All Ages, presents her debut novel, "Placid Girl." 7 pm.

Sunday, Aug. 30 (See map view)

Wednesday, Sept. 9 (See map view)

"Pope Francis: A Photographic Portrait of the People’s Pope" offers a rare look at life behind the scenes with His Holiness Pope Francis by Irish author Father Michael Collins. 7 pm.

Results 1–25 of 25.

Pages: 1

CNG: Community Newspaper Group