Courier Life’s
Sections

Current search:

Dates

July, 2015
S M T W T F S
1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031
August, 2016
S M T W T F S
123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031

Neighborhoods

Categories

Art

Venues

Results 1–30 of 138.

Pages: 1 2 3 4 5

← Previous pageNext page →

Thursday, July 30 (See map view)

After years of war in the Middle east, writers have emerged from the military with stories of war and homecoming. Authors Philip Klay, Matt Gallagher, author Sara Novic, and poet and playwright Maurice Decaul discuss the phenomenon. 6 pm.

At this one-session class, you can learn about the Buddhist practice of the mandala offerings, through which one can amass a huge inner reservoir of positive energy. 7:30 pm.

Storytellers interpret the theme “Flotation.” Speakers include Hawley Hussey, Frederick McKindra, Hannah van Hemmen, and Camonghne Felix. 8 pm.

Saturday, Aug. 1 (See map view)

Free English classes. Activities focusing on improving English speaking and comprehension skills through games, lessons and conversations, 1–2:30 pm.

Sunday, Aug. 2 (See map view)

Learn to deeply enjoy the process of transforming your mind. Each class includes a meditation session and talk. 11:30.

Learn the history of Brooklyn through the lens of the Brooklyn Historical Society building in this hour-long tour. Longtime Brooklyn residents and first-time visitors alike will learn details about the building and borough. 1 pm.

Tour several Brooklyn Heights pubs closely connected to some of the literary greats. 1 pm.

Monday, Aug. 3 (See map view)

The line between reality and fantasy is blurred in 1973 film "The Spirit of the Beehive," by Spanish director Victor Erice that draws us into the mischievous and dangerous world of a child’s imagination. 6:30 pm.

Tuesday, Aug. 4 (See map view)

The Sheepshead Bay chapter of Business Network International meets to network and discuss business opportunities. 7–8:30 am.

Take a tour, see a masonry demonstration, and hear about the next generation of stone carving with stone carver Chris Pellettieri. 6:30 pm.

Kathleen Alcott launches "Infinite Home," which the Wall Street Journal raves is “a beautiful story of love and heartbreak.” Author Valeria Luiselli discusses the book with her. 7–9 pm.

BRIC and Made in NY Media Center present a forum bringing together innovators in film and technology to showcase collaborative works. 7 pm.

In the tradition of "Detroit: An American Autopsy" and “Maximum City” comes a deeply reported and beautifully written biography of the city of Rio de Janeiro from prizewinning journalist and Brazilian native Juliana Barbassa. 7 pm.

In "The Fifth Season," Jemisin weaves storylines of a mother looking for her kidnapped daughter, a girl taken to a brutal school, and two magicians, into one. 7 pm.

Wednesday, Aug. 5 (See map view)

At a time of controversial police actions, debates over public education, and poverty, Luther Campbell’s biography "The Book of Luke" shows how one person can change a community and a country. 7–9 pm.

In "The Sex Myth," Rachel Hills blends sociology, popular culture, and powerful personal stories to present a new perspective on our collective sex lives. 7 pm.

Thursday, Aug. 6 (See map view)

Hear the whimsical story and recipes behind one of Brooklyn’s most delicious local businesses in "Van Leeuwen Artisan Ice Cream." Samples will be provided! 6:30 pm.

Lauren Willig celebrates "The Lure of the Moonflower," the latest novel in the Pink Carnation series, in conversation with Beatriz Williams (“Tiny Little Thing”) and Sarah MacLean (“The Rogue Not Taken”). 7 pm.

S Kincaid launches "Man the F*** Up," a comedic bedtime story in which one woman sorely laments the death of chivalry in modern dating. 7–9 pm.

Saturday, Aug. 8 (See map view)

Free English classes. Activities focusing on improving English speaking and comprehension skills through games, lessons and conversations, 1–2:30 pm.

Sunday, Aug. 9 (See map view)

Learn to deeply enjoy the process of transforming your mind. Each class includes a meditation session and talk. 11:30.

Learn the history of Brooklyn through the lens of the Brooklyn Historical Society building in this hour-long tour. Longtime Brooklyn residents and first-time visitors alike will learn details about the building and borough. 1 pm.

Tour several Brooklyn Heights pubs closely connected to some of the literary greats. 1 pm.

Tuesday, Aug. 11 (See map view)

The Sheepshead Bay chapter of Business Network International meets to network and discuss business opportunities. 7–8:30 am.

A panel of artists share their experiences working with the "Mapping Brooklyn" exhibition, which juxtaposes the work of contemporary artists working with historic maps. 6:30 pm.

Wednesday, Aug. 12 (See map view)

Nicola Chase talks about her memoir "Tea and Transition," where she recounts her journey to gender acceptance, and the humor and heartbreak that comes with it. 7–9 pm.

Thursday, Aug. 13 (See map view)

The Bay Ridge Jewish Center discusses the bestseller "Dead Wake" by Erik Larson. 7 pm.

Learn how to best use the crowd-funding platform to bring your ideas for dance and theater performances to life. The event will be followed by a dance class and cocktails with Teddy Tedholm. 7 pm.

Saturday, Aug. 15 (See map view)

Free English classes. Activities focusing on improving English speaking and comprehension skills through games, lessons and conversations, 1–2:30 pm.

Sunday, Aug. 16 (See map view)

Learn to deeply enjoy the process of transforming your mind. Each class includes a meditation session and talk. 11:30.

Results 1–30 of 138.

Pages: 1 2 3 4 5

← Previous pageNext page →

CNG: Community Newspaper Group